About Muriel Spark

Muriel Spark passport photograph (1947)

Muriel Spark (née Camberg; 1 February 1918 – 13 April 2006) was a poet, writer of fiction, criticism and literary biography. Best-known as the author of The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie,  Muriel Spark was at the top of her profession, internationally, for more than half a century and went on to win many literary awards. She received a number of honorary degrees, and became ‘Dame Muriel Spark’ when she was made a Dame Commander of the British Empire in 1993.

Never out of print, Muriel Spark wrote many well-known novels including The Driver’s Seat, The Girls of Slender Means and Momento Mori.  Her work found critical approval, and her novels, where the supernatural and the surreal come into collision – and collusion – with the everyday, helped to change the face of fiction in the English language.

Rome c.1971-74, copyright ©Jerry Bauer

“Muriel Spark is not only the greatest Scottish novelist of the second half of the twentieth century, she is one of the world’s greatest writers. She may be best known for The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie but that is only one among many of her books that deserves to be read and re-read.”

Alan Taylor, Founding editor of The Scottish Review of Books and Author of Appointment in Arezzo: A friendship with Muriel Spark (2017, Birlinn/Polygon).

You can find Muriel Spark’s full bibliography and more information about her life on the National Library of Scotland’s Muriel Spark website.

The Library holds a significant and unique archive dedicated to the author. You can hear more about the Muriel Spark’s archive in one of the National Library of Scotland’s webcasts from June 2016, “Sparkiving: Loitering with intent to catalogue”, available on the Resources and Publications page.

Prime of Miss Jean Brodie 2012 Penguin  The Driver's Seat 2017 New Directions Publishing  Memento Mori 2010 Penguin Blake  Comforters 2009 Little Brown Book  Robinson Penguin Greer  Peckham Rye Penguin 2010 The Bachelors 2016 Canongate Books  Girls of Slender Means Penguin 2013  The Abbess of Crewe 1977 Penguin  A Far Cry From Kensington 2008 Little Brown Book  The Mandelbaum Gate 2001 Welcome Rain Publishers  Loitering with Intent 2017 New Directions Publishing Aiding and Abetting 2002 Bantam Doubleday Dell Publishing  The Finishing School 2005 Anchor Books Public Image Penguin   The Take-over 1976 Pan MacMillan.jpg  The Snobs 2005 Penguin  The Hothouse by the East River 1977 Penguin Territorial Rights 2014 Little Brown Book.jpg  Symposium 1990 Little Brown Book The Only Problem 1985 HarperCollins Triad Granada Reality and Dreams 1997 Penguin Complete Poems 2015 Carcanet Press Not to Disturb 2010 New Directions Publishing.jpg